A Different Kind of History

As our loyal readers know, this blog was originally conceived to describe Gail and my efforts to visit California’s Historical Landmarks. After getting started, I began to add in pages about my solo bicycle exploits.

This page has nothing to do with any of that. It contains links to material unrelated to historical landmarks or bicycle riding. Instead, it presents a little bit of history from my high school days in Castro Valley.

More than likely, these documents will appeal to a select class of people.  At most, this junk will be of interest to people lucky enough to have attended Castro Valley High School between 1970 and 1975. More probably, they will be of interest to the 10-15 people that were involved in the creation of this material. If you don’t fit in that demographic, then proceed at your own peril.

A little history about the documents is in order. My friend, Ed Conner, has a treasure trove of stuff from our high school years in Castro Valley (1968-1972). How he has managed to hold onto this detritus over time is a mystery to me but I am glad that he did. At a party in 2009 at Stately Conner Mansion in Castro Valley, Ed presented each attendee with a CD that contained some scanned copies of a bit of his collection. The CD included:

1.  Copies of selected editions of The Achaean, which was the CVHS student newspaper:

2.  A document,  CVHS Track Alibi List 1972, that a member of CVHS’s vaunted track and field team might not have performed up to snuff in a meet; and

3.  A document, Spartan Code – 1972, that all CVHS athletes lived by.

I hope that you Spartans (and Spartan wannabes) enjoy this trip down memory lane. Of course, if you have other stuff that you would like to contribute to this collection, please send it to me and I will add it to the archive.

4 responses to “A Different Kind of History

  1. My only regret is that I did not keep more stuff. The collection is sadly non-comprehensive.

    • I probably had some, too, but my mother deleted it when she moved from the family home on Lamson Road in 1980.

      Do you remember who put together the “Wall of Fame” at the 20th reunion of the Class of 1972?
      they seemed to have a stash of this kind of stuff, too.

  2. No, I don’t remember who that was. I mostly kept stuff that I wrote, or that featured me or some of my closer friends. Note that there are no copies of the Achaean from our freshman or sophomore years. I kept the Spartan Code and alibi list because they were funny. The Spartan code, in particular, is truly historic — it was already somewhat of a relic when we got it in 1968 or 1969, and by 1972 it was hopelessly outdated. Given the ensuing 40 years of cynicism, I can’t imagine such a thing being distributed to students today.

  3. Nancy Wilkerson Emerick

    Wow! Blast from the past. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

